Occupation Search Results
Licensing Requirements
Wisconsin

License Title:

BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY PRACTITIONER

Description:

A barber cosmetologist practitioner is a person who practices barbering or cosmetology. Barbering or cosmetology means performing any one or a combination of the following practices for compensation:

1). arranging, styling, dressing, shampooing, cleansing, curling, dyeing, tinting, coloring, bleaching, waving, cutting, shaving, trimming, relaxing, singeing, or performing similar work upon the hair or beard of any person by any means;

2). massaging, cleansing, stimulating, manipulating, wrapping, exercising beautifying or applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, powders, oils, tonics, clay or lotion to or performing other similar work upon the skin of any person;

3). manicuring;

4). the removal of hair from any person, except by use of an electric needle.

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:

Applicant must complete a prescribed cosmetology course of at least 1800 hours in a licensed school of barbering and cosmetology or successfully complete an apprenticeship of 4,000 hours. Detailed information is available in the Wisconsin Statutes and Wisconsin Administrative Code.

……Continuing Education Requirements per BC 11

Beginning with the March, 2011 Renewal period, licensees who received their license prior to 4/1/09 must certify that they have completed 2 continuing education hours in laws governing licensees and establishments and 4 hours in safety, sanitation and infection control.

Continuing education is required for licensees providing the following procedures:

1) Laser hair removal – at least 6 hours in programs specific to laser hair removal
2) Microdermabrasion - at least 6 hours in programs specific to microdermabrasion
3) Chemical Exfoliation – at least 6 hours in programs specific to chemical exfoliation

EXAMINATION:

Applicants must complete both a written and a practical examination based upon the Barbering and Cosmetology Board's determination of the level of performance required for minimum acceptable competence in the profession.

FEES:

Application fees equal $224, which includes initial credential and exam; $82-Renewal fee, $107 with late fee; due by March 31st of odd-numbered years.

revised 3/13


Licensing Authority:
WI Department of Safety and Professional Services
Division of Professional Credential Process
1400 E. Washington Ave.
P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708-8935
(608)266-2112   (608)261-7083 fax

http://dsps.wi.gov/Licenses-Permits/Barber/BARforms


Occupation Profile
Wisconsin.gov E-Government Portal
  American Job Center Banner

Home | Contact Us | About Us | Legal | Help | What's New | Site Map
Department of Workforce Development
  The information on this site is updated regularly. The same search run at another time may produce different results.