Workforce Development Area Directory

WDA 1 - Southeast

image: WDA 11 Map of CountiesKenosha, Racine, and Walworth Counties comprise the Southeast Workforce Development Area (WDA).  The WDA is bordered by Lake Michigan to the east, Milwaukee and Waukesha Counties to the north, and the State of Illinois to the south.  Kenosha and Walworth Counties lie just north of the Illinois state line.  Approximately one-third of employed Kenosha County residents and one-tenth of employed Walworth County residents work outside of Wisconsin.  Most of these out-of-state commuters work in Illinois.  Kenosha County’s especially strong economic ties to Illinois are reflected in its inclusion in the Lake County Illinois Metropolitan Statistical Area.

The Southeast WDA has a strong, diversified mix of industries.  The largest employing sector in the WDA is education and health services.  The education services subsector is a significant employer in Walworth County, home of the University of Wisconsin at Whitewater and in Kenosha County, home of the University of Wisconsin at Parkside.  Manufacturing is the WDA’s next largest employing sector and is especially strong in Racine County.  Tourism is a significant part of Walworth County’s economy.

Last updated 12/27/2012 E-Government Portal
  American Job Center Banner

Home | Contact Us | About Us | Legal | Help | What's New | Site Map
Department of Workforce Development
  The information on this site is updated regularly. The same search run at another time may produce different results.