Workforce Development Area Directory

WDA 1 - Southeast

image: WDA 11 Map of CountiesWaukesha, Ozaukee, and Washington Counties comprise the W-O-W Workforce Development Area (WDA).  The WDA hosts a large population and job base, accounting for 11% of the state’s population and 12% of the state’s jobs. The three suburban W-O-W counties border Milwaukee County on the north and west, and together with Milwaukee, form the four-county Milwaukee Metropolitan Area, which is home to 27% of the state’s population and 29% of the state’s jobs.  Because of convenient access to the Milwaukee job market, many Waukesha, Ozaukee, and Washington County residents work outside of their home counties and outside of the W-O-W WDA.  The rate of out-commute is almost 40% in Waukesha County and over 50% in Washington and Ozaukee Counties.

The three suburban counties which make up the W-O-W WDA are not just bedroom communities of Milwaukee.  The WDA has a strong, diversified mix of industries including Fortune 500 Kohl’s Corporation and seventeen other large private sector businesses employing 1,000 or more workers.  The WDA’s largest sectors are trade, transportation, and utilities, which employ over one-fifth of the workforce, and manufacturing, which employs almost as many.

W-O-W residents enjoy the highest per capita income in the state, due in large part to access to high wage jobs both within the WDA and in neighboring Milwaukee County.

Last updated 12/27/2012

WORKnet is moving! We have developed a new site to house the data and resources currently available on WORKnet. Visit to start using our new, interactive tools and resources. WORKnet will be transitioned to WisConomy in the fall of 2018. Please email or contact us with any questions. E-Government Portal
  American Job Center Banner

Home | Contact Us | About Us | Legal | Help | What's New | Site Map
Department of Workforce Development
  The information on this site is updated regularly. The same search run at another time may produce different results.