Workforce Development Area Directory

WDA 5 - Bay Area

image: WDA 11 Map of CountiesThe Bay Area is made up of 11 counties in the Northeastern area of the State of Wisconsin. The counties include Brown, Door, Florence, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, and Sheboygan. Five of the counties in the area are designated as metropolitan statistical areas (MSA).

The Green Bay Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) is the largest of the three MSA's in the area (including the Outagamie County portion of the Appleton MSA and the Sheboygan MSA) and contains approximately 38 percent of the labor force and employment in the WDA. It makes up about 37 percent of the population for the Bay Area, and is near the geographical center of the region. Manufacturing makes up just over 18 percent of the employment, with the predominant industry being paper making, both in scale of employment and average annual salary.

Sheboygan County is the other MSA whose boundaries are wholly within the Bay Area. It is slightly less than one half the size of the Green Bay MSA in terms of employment and labor force. It is also the southernmost county in the area. Approximately 40 percent of the county's employment is in the manufacturing sector, double the statewide average.


Wisconsin’s Bay Area WDA has 7,228 sq. miles in land area and a population density of 111 people per square mile. From 1970 to 2010, WDA 5’s population grew by 34.3%.

WDA 5 has a total of 245* K-12 public schools. There are 13 post-secondary schools, including 5 WI Tech College Campuses.

In 2011, manufacturing was the largest of the 11 major industrial sectors within WDA 5 with an average annual wage of $47,907.** Per capita income grew by 30.8% between 2000 and 2010. ***

* Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
** Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages, Labor Market Information Section, WI DWD
** United States Bureau of Economic Analysis, Department of Commerce

Last updated 10/3/2012

WORKnet is moving! We have developed a new site to house the data and resources currently available on WORKnet. Visit to start using our new, interactive tools and resources. WORKnet will be transitioned to WisConomy in the fall of 2018. Please email or contact us with any questions. E-Government Portal
  American Job Center Banner

Home | Contact Us | About Us | Legal | Help | What's New | Site Map
Department of Workforce Development
  The information on this site is updated regularly. The same search run at another time may produce different results.